free webinar on august 16 about drug-resistant tuberculosis

FREE WEBINAR: Implementing a Bedaquiline-Based, Injectable-Free Regimen for Drug-Resistant Tuberculosis
August 16, 2018
10 am EDT / 4 pm South Africa / 5 pm Kenya
REGISTER HERE

We invite you to join a critical discussion on August 16, 2018 at 10 am New York / 4pm South Africa / 5pm Kenya as TAG, TB CAB, and DR-TB STAT host a webinar on Implementing a bedaquiline-based, injectable-free regimen for drug-resistant tuberculosis (DR-TB) in light of the new WHO policy brief on DR-TB regimens.

Dr. Nobert Ndjeka from the National Department of Health in South Africa will be talking about the South African experience as the first country to roll out this unique and less toxic regimen and how the South Africa regimen differs from the new WHO policy brief on DR-TB regimens (including advantages and disadvantages).

Eunice Omesa, the Section Head for Monitoring, Evaluation & Research from the Ministry of Health in Kenya will be talking about practical considerations countries have in order to implement a bedaquiline-based, injectable-free regimen bearing in mind the new WHO policy brief on DR-TB regimens.

We’ll also include perspectives from a survivor of drug-resistant TB, and other members of civil society. TB survivor and TB PROOF management committee member Phumeza Tisile will share her experience with injectable drug-induced hearing loss and recommendations for national programs. The discussion will be moderated by Marcus Low, Spotlight editor and technical co-lead of the Global TB Community Advisory Board. Closed captioning will be available at this link: http://www.streamtext.net/player?event=TAG. Please rearrange your screens to view the live transcription and the presentation. 

Please register now [https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/1287236038538821634for the FREE August webinar to receive your log in information.

Screen Shot 2018-08-08 at 3.46.22 PM
Norbert Ndjeka
Director, Drug-Resistant TB, TB & HIV at National Department of Health, South Africa
Contact Us: Treatment Action Group, 90 Broad Street, Suite 2503, New York, New York 10004, 212-253-7922.  Communications@treatmentactiongroup.org. This year marks TAG’s 25th year fighting for life-saving medications for people living with, and at risk for, HIV, TB, and HCV. Please consider supporting this work by making a donation to our 25th Anniversary Campaign today.

One thought on “free webinar on august 16 about drug-resistant tuberculosis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s